Arizona Territory Of The United States

Arizona Territory

In 1863, Arizona Territory created.

In 1912, Arizona gained statehood as the 48th state in the United States. Only a century before that, Mexico and Spain owned the land now considered Arizona. Then in 1848, Mexico ceded land to the United States that included Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona. They called the land of New Mexico and Arizona, New Mexico Territory until 1863. Then they separated the land into New Mexico Territory and Arizona Territory.

Members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and gold seekers settled the land. Then with the advent of air conditioners, more people moved to the desert. Now Arizona houses a variety of people, especially senior citizens as the dry air helps with some complications later in life.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.